Codecademy: Teaching Me Some CSS

This week’s coding assignment was a piece of cake! Since I have some (fragmented) experience with HTML, but haven’t done CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) before, I decided to give it a try. Codecademy’s website has a great user interface and simple but not condescending instructions. After my CSS course, here’s the code I wound up with:

HTML code: the structure of the webpage

HTML code: the structure of the webpage

CSS code: describes the style of the HTML

CSS code: describes the style of the HTML

As a way to quantify success, Codecademy makes use of small “badges”. They’re easy to earn in bulk just by completing the assignments. Here’s what i got for the above lesson and project:

7 Badges from my CSS course

7 Badges from my CSS course

Conclusions: while it was slow going, I enjoyed my foray into the land of HTML. I might look into coding again in the future, and it will likely prove useful, but I probably won’t make coding the next Facebook my main aspiration in life.

Leave a Reply

